Travel and Quarantine Requirements

Travel and Entry Requirements

  • Short-term visas (type C-1 and C-3) issued on or before 5 April 2020 are no longer valid.
  • Suspension of visa free entry and visa-waiver programs for nationals of Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Dominican Rep., Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Eswatini (Swaziland), Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Marshall Isl., Mauritius, Micronesia (Federated States), Montenegro, Morocco, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russian Fed., Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Solomon Isl., South Africa, Spain, St. Lucia, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates and Uruguay.


    • Airline crew

    • APEC Business Travel Card holder

    • Diplomatic, an official or a service passport holder

    • Long-term visa holders

    • C-4 short-term employment visa holders

  • Suspension of visa exemptions for nationals of Japan, Hong Kong (SAR China), Macao (SAR China) and Chinese Taipei (on the cover: Republic of China Taiwan) normal passport holders.
  • All registered long-term visa holders who seek to depart and return to South Korea must obtain a Re-Entry Permit from the local immigration office prior to leaving South Korea. Before returning to Korea, the visa holder must obtain medical certificate in English or Korean issued within 48 hours before departure. Leaving Korea without a Re-Entry Permit will result in cancellation of Alien Registration. Also, those who fail to present the medical certificate will be prohibited from re-entry into South Korea.

    • Exemptions: A-1 Diplomats, A-2 Government officials, A-3 SOFA visa holders and F-4 overseas Korean visa holders.

  • Re-entry permit exemption for long-term foreign residents in Korea is suspended.

  • Travellers are advised to check with airlines, embassies and government websites for updated information and specific requirements before departing. Requirements are subject to change without prior notice.

Quarantine and Health Requirements 

  • All travellers must present a printed negative COVID-19 PCR test result issued 72 hours prior to departure and must be in Korean or English. Electronic certificates such as on mobile devices are not accepted. All will be tested upon arrival.
    •  Travellers departing from the Philippines and Nepal are required to submit a COVID-19 PCR test result issued by an inspection agency designated by an overseas mission.

    • South Koreans traveling from Indonesia should submit a negative COVID-19 PCR test result to enter the country. Without a negative COVID-19 PCR test, they will not be allowed to enter the country.

    • Exemption: Children under 6 years of age, Transit Passenger, persons subject to exemption from quarantine for humanitarian reasons, and purpose of overseas business trips for official duties.

  • All are required to undergo 14 days quarantine at a government-designated/temporary living facilities at their own expense.

    • Travellers from India must undergo 7 days of quarantine at government facilities, followed by 7 days of self-quarantine.

    • Travellers from Brazil or Africa must self-quarantine after PCR diagnostic test at a temporary living facility upon arrival.

    • Travellers from South Africa and Tanzania must quarantine at government facilities for 14 days.

  • All Korean nationals entering Korea are required to obtain a negative COVID-19 PCR test result issued within 72 hours before the departure date. Those who did not submit the negative COVID-19 PCR test result will be quarantined at a government facility for 14 days after arrival in Korea, at their own expense.

  • Quarantine exemption

    • Travellers who have completed vaccinations in Korea under the government-administered vaccination program and re-entered from overseas.

    • Passengers who have completed vaccinations abroad using WHO-approved vaccines such as Pfizer, AstraZeneca, Janssen, Moderna, Kobishield, Sinopharm or Sinovac and have entered the country two weeks after receiving the recommended dose can enter the country for the following purposes: Visiting the immediate family/Important business/Academic public interest/Humanitarian purpose. Quarantine Exemption Certificate must be obtained first at the Korean Embassy/Consulate.

  • Travellers entering from Argentina, Bangladesh, Botswana, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, India, Indonesia, Malawi, Malta, Mozambique, Pakistan, Paraguay, Philippines, South Africa, Suriname, Tanzania, Uruguay, and Zimbabwe are not exempted from quarantine even if they have been vaccinated.

  • Travellers are advised to check with airlines, embassies for updated information and specific requirements before departing. Requirements are subject to change without prior notice.

Updated as at 8 July 2021

Disclaimer: Due to COVID-19, there has been a constant change in terms of work permit process, timeline, travel restrictions, quarantine period, medical tests as well as insurance requirements etc. All these requirements can change by the respective authorities in both country of work and candidate’s home country from time to time. The process, timeline and costs that Innovare provides is a guideline and is subject to change if any process is being changed. While every reasonable effort has been made to ensure its accuracy at the time of communication, Innovare cannot guarantee nor be liable for such change in timeline or costs arising from any pandemic related factors so please take note of the potentially volatile situation during this period.